The Swapper

I’ve always thought games offer people the ability to manipulate character’s lives in a way that defies their true character.  Altering their malleable brains in a Being John Malkovic sort of way but often with less interesting results. The Swapper is a game which succeeds in this sense. The game forces the player to create clones of themself and then switch to those clones, provided they are within sight. I didn’t expect much from this mechanic but it actually evolves in some really interesting ways, both in terms of puzzling gameplay, storytelling and emergent pondering.

Come on, who would build a room like this?

I love that the gameplay mechanic is thought provoking. That’s something many game can’t claim. If I am falling from a cliff, then I swap to a clone. Does the clone feel pain? Would I willing to be a disposable clone so that a future clone can continue? Probably not but what if I had no choice? Also, can rocks think? In this game the answer is yes. Sentient boulders and rock samples philosophise on their nature and that of the universe as you walk past them and it’s always rather pleasing to see what they have to say I think. Seemingly this effect can bleed over into the real world.

Leave me alone! I’m on my way to work!

I once swapped with a person. I walked into a busy barbers in Huddersfield and was immediately asked “Are you John?”. I nodded, a little surprised. I took my seat and received a haircut. They then thanked me and rushed me out of the door. Basically, I stole some guy’s haircut. I’m not proud of it, but it did happen. Sorry other John. One of my favourite things about the game is that your abilities remain constant but as you progress through , you start to realise that you’re capable of more than you first imagined. The puzzles develop you and teach you  to use your given abilities to greater effect. It’s a difficult thing to get right and when it’s done well, it’s noticeable. I almost felt a pang of the joy of Abe’s Odysee but I’d say it’s a bit less devious in difficulty and far more serious in tone probably closer to Portal in that sense. I have to say I was smitten by the story of The Swapper. It’s an unusually intriguing space fiction and navigating the eerie halls and discovering the fate of the crew evokes  genuine curiosity and dread. Added to that is the hand-made clay environments and challenging puzzles. It’s really one of my favourite games of 2014. Maybe ever. You can obtain it from the FacePalmGames website or from Steam Swap to it.

Don't leave a reply here under any circumstances.